Go To Desktop Site
Custom Search

Governor Saraki sworn in 15 Local Government Chairmen

Date: 2010-11-28


The 15 newly elected Local Government Chairmen in Kwara State have been sworn-in by the State Governor, Dr Bukola Saaki with a charge to the new helmsmen to ensure that the dividends of democracy gets to their people.

The elated chairmen, who were all elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party on the 30th of October, came in their colours with their friends and relations.

Speaking at the inauguration ceremony at the weekend in Ilorin , Dr Saraki, who congratulated the Council bosses on their successes at the polls, urged them to justify the confidence reposed in them by the people of the State for the next three years.

Public office he said is public trust which should not be betrayed, noting that three years was relatively short but disclosed that a lot could still be achieved within the stipulated time frame.

Dr Saraki also told the new chairmen to implement projects that would impact positively on the lives of the people and complete all the on-going ones especially those that have relevance to the people at the grassroots.

He warned that his administration would not condone acts of financial rascality at the local government level, urging them to make their respective councils corruption-free.

On the crisis that erupted in Offa at the wake of the local government election which led to the cancellation of the result, Saraki appealed to the people of Offa to be calm and allow peace to reign in the area so that election into the council could be conducted in earnest.

He however called on security agents to fish out those responsible for the crisis in Offa with a view to prosecuting them so that it could serve as deterrent to others in future elections.

While congratulating the Chairman and members of the State Independent Electoral Commission (KWSIEC) for conducting a credible local government election, the governor appealed to traditional rulers, party elders and the entire people of the State to cooperate fully with the elected chairmen to further enhance the development of the State.

He also urged the chairmen to ensure a hitch-free 2011 general election in their respective council areas so that history would be on their side for conducting a credible election during their tenure.

The 15 sworn-in chairmen include Dr Mufutau Yahaya – Asa; Alhaji Lafia Aliyu Sabi – Baruten; Hon. Abraham Ogunleye – Ekiti; Alhaji Abubak’r Say’di – Edu; Hon. Baba Mohammed Kosa lamola – Ifelodun; Hajia Aminat Ishola – Ilorin East; Alhaji Toyin Sanusi – Ilorin West; Dr Adebayo Ishola – Ilorin South and Barrister Bashirat Mohammed – Irepodun.

Others are Hon. Edunfunke Seyi – Isin; Alhaji Ahmed Sadiq Abubakar – Kaiama; Arch. George Obaoye – Oke Ero; Alh. Ibrahim Omoniyi – Oyun; Alhaji Shuaib Baba Jimoh – Moro and Mallam Taoheed Makun Dauda – Patigi.

Earlier, the State Commissioner for Local Government, Chieftaincy Affairs and Community Development, Alhaji Ahmed Makama had commended Governor Saraki for his commitment at ensuring the overall success of the local government election in the State.

The election Makama said portrayed Kwara as a State to beat in terms of conducting a free, fair and credible election.

Makama, who decried the circumstances that led to the suspension of local government election in Offa and Kpada ward in Patigi, urged the elected chairmen to make transparency and prudency their watchword.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the Chairman of Ilorin West Local Government, Alhaji Mohammed Toyin Sanusi expressed appreciation to the people of the State for electing them and assured the governor that they would justify the confidence reposed in them by working assiduously to achieve the goal of the State Government in community development.

Mas’ud Adebimpe
Chief Press Secretary to the Kwara State Governor


Recent Posts

CIBN accredits banks training academies

JAMB postpone sales of UTME forms

Nigerians Have Best Entrepreneurship Talents Globally - Osinbajo

ho succeeds Ahmed in Kwara? By ADEKUNLE JIMOH

Osinbajo Commissions Kwara Vocational & Technical College, Commends Gov Ahmeds Foresight

Kwara Assembly to Hold Public Hearing on Ilorin Township Bill 2017

ADP condemns APC's victory at Kwara LG polls

Nigeria: Army Orders All Personnel to Learn Igbo, Hausa, Yoruba Before 2019

FG Urged To Resuscitate Technical Schools To Reduce Unemployment

Osinbajo to commission IVTEC, other projects in Kwara on Tuesday

Ilorin elders decry rise in cultism

Council Poll: KWHA Speaker Commends Kwarans... Calls for Investigation of Involvement of Cultists in the Election

Kwara LG Councillorship Elections: APC Wins 184, PDP 9

Most Popular

Kwara LG Councillorship Elections: APC Wins 184, PDP 9

Updated: KWASIEC declares APC winner of all 16 chairmanship seats in yesterday's election

Kwara LGA Polls: APC Satisfied With Conduct, PDP Alleges Electoral Fraud

KWASU Lecturer Allegedly Commits Suicide

Kwara Police boss warns Mopol against misconduct

How Afonja (Yorubas) lost the Ilorin throne - Vanguard Newspaper

Al-Hikmah University produces 16 First Class graduates

CAILS Ilorin Advertises Application Form

Oyedepo Defeats Fagbemi to Emerge Kwara PDP Chairman

Saraki Appoints Wahab Issa, Onimago as Aides

College of Education Ilorin Advertises 2017/2018 Application Form

Unilorin student kidnapped, made to drink blood

Buhari Must Ensure Justice For All - Shaaba Lafiagi